SpaceX shall be launching a batch of 53 Starlink satellites right this moment, Saturday Could 14, from House Launch Complicated 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral House Pressure Station in Florida. This marks the second Starlink launch the corporate is performing in simply 24 hours, with a earlier Starlink launch occurring yesterday from Vandenberg House Pressure Base in California.

As we speak’s launch shall be livestreamed, together with the thrilling touchdown of the rocket’s first-stage booster, and we’ve bought the main points on how one can watch alongside at residence.

What to anticipate from the launch

SpaceX is launching an extra batch of satellites so as to add to its Starlink constellation, which goals to offer world broadband web entry for subscribers. By utilizing satellites to transmit information, it’s potential to get dependable and fairly quick web entry even in areas with poor broadband protection, akin to rural or mountainous areas.

Starlink has already been helpful in offering web in emergency conditions the place conventional web providers have failed, akin to in Ukraine during the Russian invasion there and in Tonga following the large eruption of a volcano.

SpaceX eventually aims to launch as many as 42,000 Starlink satellites, with several thousand already currently in orbit. The company regularly adds to this number by performing frequent Starlink launches using its Falcon 9 rocket, such as the launch yesterday, which you can see highlights of below:

Liftoff! pic.twitter.com/TWmYoVcNjW

— SpaceX (@SpaceX) May 13, 2022

As we speak’s launch will observe an identical sample, with launch preparations and liftoff, adopted by deployment of the satellites. There’s additionally the primary stage of the rocket, additionally known as the booster, returning to Earth and being caught for future reuse. The booster is ready to land within the Atlantic Ocean, the place it is going to be caught by the drone ship Simply Learn the Directions.

The best way to watch the launch

The launch, together with the catching of the booster, shall be livestreamed by SpaceX. The launch is scheduled for 4:40 p.m. ET (1:40 p.m. PT) on Saturday, Could 14, although if the climate is unhealthy and precludes the launch, there may be one other alternative at 4:12 p.m. ET (1:12 p.m. PT) on Sunday, Could 15.

Protection will start round 10 minutes earlier than launch, so round 4:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. PT). You may watch by heading to SpaceX’s YouTube channel or through the use of the video embedded close to the highest of this web page.

Editors’ Suggestions






Did you want this text?
Share it on any of the next social media channels under to offer us your vote. Your suggestions helps us enhance.

close