SpaceX will likely be launching a batch of 53 Starlink satellites right this moment, Saturday Might 14, from House Launch Advanced 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral House Pressure Station in Florida. This marks the second Starlink launch the corporate is performing in simply 24 hours, with a earlier Starlink launch occurring yesterday from Vandenberg House Pressure Base in California.

As we speak’s launch will likely be livestreamed, together with the thrilling touchdown of the rocket’s first stage booster, and we’ve bought the small print on how one can watch alongside at residence.

What to anticipate from the launch

SpaceX is launching an extra batch of satellites so as to add to its Starlink constellation, which goals to offer international broadband web entry for subscribers. Through the use of satellites to transmit information, it’s doable to get dependable and fairly quick web entry even in areas with poor broadband protection, reminiscent of rural or mountainous areas.

Starlink has already been helpful in offering web in emergency conditions the place conventional web providers have failed, reminiscent of in Ukraine during the Russian invasion there and in Tonga following the large eruption of a volcano.

SpaceX eventually aims to launch as many as 42,000 Starlink satellites, with several thousand currently in orbit. The company regularly adds to this number by performing frequent Starlink launches using its Falcon 9 rocket, such as the launch yesterday which you can see highlights of below:

Liftoff! pic.twitter.com/TWmYoVcNjW

— SpaceX (@SpaceX) May 13, 2022

As we speak’s launch will comply with an identical sample, with launch preparations and liftoff, adopted by deployment of the satellites. There’s additionally the primary stage of the rocket, additionally known as the booster, returning to Earth and being caught for future reuse. The booster is ready to land within the Atlantic Ocean the place it is going to be caught by the droneship Simply Learn the Directions.

The way to watch the launch

The launch, together with the catching of the booster, will likely be livestreamed by SpaceX. The launch is scheduled for 4:40 p.m. ET (1:40 p.m. PT) on Saturday, Might 14, although if the climate is unhealthy and precludes the launch there’s one other alternative at 4:12 p.m. ET (1:12 p.m. PT) on Sunday, Might 15.

Protection will start round 10 minutes earlier than launch, so round 4:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. PT). You’ll be able to watch both by heading to SpaceX’s YouTube channel or by utilizing the video embedded close to the highest of this web page.

Editors’ Suggestions






Did you want this text?
Share it on any of the next social media channels beneath to provide us your vote. Your suggestions helps us enhance.

close